Mount Royal, A Territory to Discover

Home /History & Architecture /Camilien-Houde Lookout

  • Discovery file
  • Slide-show
  • Audio-video

The Mountain and Public Transit

The funicular

Inaugurated in 1885, the funicular was the first mechanical means of transportation to the mountain. From a departure station at the end of Duluth Street, it brought visitors to the top of the escarpment. The funicular was closed down in 1918 and was demolished in 1920. You can see vestiges of the arrival structure near the escarpment trail.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The tramway

The first tramline was inaugurated in 1893 to facilitate access to the mountain and the cemeteries. It ran along Côte-Sainte-Catherine Road, Edouard Montpetit Boulevard, Décelles Street and Queen Mary Road.

In 1924, the tramway took Côte des Neiges Road and Queen Mary Road.

It was not until 1930 that tram service linked the intersection of Parc and Mont Royal to Smith House.

Bus line #11

Today’s number 11 bus follows the route of the old number 11 tramline and takes passengers from Plateau Mont Royal to Côte-des-Neiges.

 

Photo credits

Tram #1337 of the 11 line, 1948
© Canadian Railroad Historical Association

The funicular
© Les amis de la montagne Collection

View of Camilien-Houde Lookout
Photo: Samuel Montigné
© Collection les Amis de la montagne

View of Camilien-Houde Lookout
Photo: Samuel Montigné
© Collection les Amis de la montagne

Hors drawn-carriage on Olmsted path
Old Postcard
© Collection les Amis de la montagne

Funiculaire Hors drawn-carriage, around 1910
G-1483[1]
© Archives Ville de montréal

Funiculare, around 1910
Old postcard
© Collection les Amis de la montagne

Tram #1337 of the 11 line, 1948
© Canadian Railroad Historical Association

Bus number 11, 1987

E-4,490

 

© les Amis de la montagne Collection

Voie Camillien Houde inauguration day: Sarto Fournier, mayor of Montreal, 1958
Armour Landry's Collection
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec