Founded in 1909, Miss Edgar’s and Miss Cramp’s School is an independent, non-denominational girls’ day school that today provides approximately 340 girls from Kindergarten to Grade 11 with an outstanding education.
ECS houses three school divisions under one roof: a French-immersion Junior School for girls in Kindergarten to Grade 5; a Middle School for girls in Grades 6, 7, and 8, and a Senior School for girls in Grades 9, 10, and 11. Now in its third home, ECS is situated in the heart of a historic Westmount residential neighbourhood.
The School began its life in a home on Guy Street in downtown Montreal. There were 70 girls at the outset, including 15 Boarders. The Heads’ ideal was to equip their pupils with a broad understanding of literature, languages, ethics, fine arts, as well as science and mathematics. The most novel feature of the curriculum was the organization of literature and history: these were studied in tandem, century by century. Small classes, subject promotion, and individual timetables also made Miss Edgar’s and Miss Cramp’s pedagogical approach unique.
Forty years later, the School relocated to a stately building on Cedar Avenue, on the slope of Mount Royal. By then there were approximately 150 girls attending, with 17 Boarders. The School continued to flourish in this building for another 16 years, but its leaders were always conscious of the need for a space designed and built to be a school.
Setting their sights on a beautiful property built by esteemed architect Robert Findley at the corner of Mount Pleasant and Montrose Avenues, the School undertook a major fundraising campaign to make the move possible. The official opening took place in November 1964 : at this point, ECS became a dedicated day school.
Rooted in the traditions of excellence and innovation established in its earliest days, ECS has continued to evolve and thrive in its current location! Explore their website at www.ecs.qc.ca to discover more about ECS today.