Mount Royal, A Territory to Discover

Home /Partners territory /ECS School

ECS School

www.ecs.qc.ca

Miss Edgar’s and Miss Cramp’s School (ECS)

Founded in 1909, Miss Edgar’s and Miss Cramp’s School is an independent, non-denominational girls’ day school that today provides approximately 340 girls from Kindergarten to Grade 11 with an outstanding education.

ECS houses three school divisions under one roof: a French-immersion Junior School for girls in Kindergarten to Grade 5; a Middle School for girls in Grades 6, 7, and 8, and a Senior School for girls in Grades 9, 10, and 11. Now in its third home, ECS is situated in the heart of a historic Westmount residential neighbourhood.

The School began its life in a home on Guy Street in downtown Montreal. There were 70 girls at the outset, including 15 Boarders. The Heads’ ideal was to equip their pupils with a broad understanding of literature, languages, ethics, fine arts, as well as science and mathematics. The most novel feature of the curriculum was the organization of literature and history: these were studied in tandem, century by century. Small classes, subject promotion, and individual timetables also made Miss Edgar’s and Miss Cramp’s pedagogical approach unique.

Forty years later, the School relocated to a stately building on Cedar Avenue, on the slope of Mount Royal. By then there were approximately 150 girls attending, with 17 Boarders. The School continued to flourish in this building for another 16 years, but its leaders were always conscious of the need for a space designed and built to be a school.

Setting their sights on a beautiful property built by esteemed architect Robert Findley at the corner of Mount Pleasant and Montrose Avenues, the School undertook a major fundraising campaign to make the move possible. The official opening took place in November 1964 : at this point, ECS became a dedicated day school.

Rooted in the traditions of excellence and innovation established in its earliest days, ECS has continued to evolve and thrive in its current location! Explore their website at www.ecs.qc.ca to discover more about ECS today.

Le mont Royal, un territoire-exposition

Accueil /Partenaires du territoire /ECS School

ECS School

www.ecs.qc.ca

École Miss Edgar and Miss Cramp (ECS)

Fondée en 1909, l’École Miss Edgar and Miss Cramp est une institution d’enseignement privée et non confessionnelle qui offre une éducation de haute qualité à environ 340 jeunes filles externes de la maternelle à la 11e année.

ECS, c’est trois écoles sous un même toit : une école primaire d’immersion française (de la maternelle à la 5e année); une école intermédiaire de la 6e à la 8e année; une école secondaire de la 9e à la 11e année. L’emplacement actuel, le troisième depuis la fondation de l’école, se trouve au cœur même d’un quartier résidentiel historique de Westmount.

L’école a vu le jour sur la rue Guy dans le centre-ville de Montréal. Elle comptait alors 70 élèves, dont 15 étaient pensionnaires. Les directrices s’étaient donné comme mandat de fournir à leurs élèves la possibilité d’acquérir de vastes connaissances en littérature, en langues, en beaux-arts, en éthique, mais également en sciences et en mathématiques. L’originalité du programme éducatif de l’école résidait alors dans l’organisation de l’enseignement de la littérature et de l’histoire : les deux matières étaient vues en parallèle, siècle par siècle. De petites classes, la promotion par matière et des horaires individuels contribuaient également à l’approche pédagogique unique à l’École Miss Edgar and Miss Cramp.

Quarante ans plus tard, l’école était relocalisée dans un édifice prestigieux de l’avenue Cedar sur un des flancs du mont Royal. Le nombre d’élèves s’élevait alors à environ 150, dont 17 pensionnaires. L’école a continué de croître sur son site de l’avenue Cedar pendant encore 16 ans, mais ses directrices demeuraient sensibles à la nécessité d’offrir un espace physique conçu et construit pour héberger un milieu de vie scolaire.

Ayant fixé leur choix sur une magnifique propriété construite par le renommé architecte Robert Findley au coin des avenues Mount Pleasant et Montrose, les responsables de l’école entreprirent une campagne de financement en vue d’un déménagement éventuel qui devint une réalité au mois de novembre 1964. C’est alors qu’il fut décidé qu’ECS s’adresserait exclusivement à une clientèle externe.

Enracinée dans une longue tradition d’excellence et d’innovation établie dès ses premières années d’existence, ECS a poursuivi son évolution et son expansion sur son site actuel. Explorez son site web au www.ecs.qc.ca afin d’en apprendre davantage au sujet de l’école ECS de la période actuelle.